LibGuides: Geology: Home

Locating articles

The library subscribes to a few databases that include content related to Geology, along with cross-disciplinary databases, many of which are full text.

GreenFILE
Provides indexing and abstracts covering aspects of the human impact on the environment including global warming, pollution, renewable energy and more.
Science Full Text Select
Provides access to more than 400 full-text journals covering subjects in the areas of biology, life sciences, technology, and engineering.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary. Includes full text
JSTOR
Cross-disciplinary database. Includes full-text articles from over 2,000 publications.
ProQuest Central
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles and graphics from more than 10,000 magazines, journals and newspapers.

Useful books

Books at the COC Library are shelved by Library of Congress Classification. In this system, books on geology are mostly found in the call number range QE. The library's eBook collections contain additional titles. Please find a selection of print and ebook titles below. To find more books, please visit the library website and locate items through OneSearch.

A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences
Call Number: Valencia and Canyon Country Stacks QE5 .D55 2013
Aerial Geology: a high-altitude tour of North America's spectacular volcanoes, canyons, glaciers, lakes, craters, and peaks
Call Number: Valencia Stacks QE71 .M67 2017
Darwin's Evolving Identity: Adventure, Ambition, and the Sin of Speculation
Call Number: Ebook and Valencia Stacks QH31.D2 S66 2018
Geopedia: a brief compendium of geologic curiosities
Call Number: Canyon Country Stacks QE5 .B56 2022
Hard Road West: history & geology along the Gold Rush trail
Call Number: Ebook and Valencia Stacks F593 .M479 2007
Landforms of the Earth: an illustrated guide
Call Number: Valencia Stacks GB403 .G88 2016
Vineyards, Rocks, and Soils: the wine lover's guide to geology
Call Number: Valencia Stacks TP548 .M31737 2018
Song of the Earth: understanding geology and why it matters
Call Number: Canyon Country Stacks QE26.3 .E78 2021

Related resources

The Geological Society of America
The Geological Society of America (GSA) helps a diverse community of geoscientists find the tools, confidence, and connections they need to navigate the complexity involved in advancing the field of geological science and driving their careers to fulfilling new heights.
Other Professional Associations
A list of other professional organizations related to the field of Geology.

Academic Video Online
Provides access to almost 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
College Complete eBook Collection
Provides access to more than 46,000 eBooks from leading academic publishers.

Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University provides writing resources and instructional material, including citation style guide examples for MLA, APA, and Chicago.
Cool 4 Ed
The three State of California Higher Education Systems are working together to provide you easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning.

Geology

Your Library Guide

Chat with a Librarian 24/7!

Locating articles

Useful books

Related resources