LibGuides: Culinary Arts: Home

Locating articles

The library does not currently subscribe to a database specific to the field of culinary arts. However, there are cross-disciplinary databases that include citations to articles about culinary arts topics, many of which are full text.

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary. Includes full text
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Consumer health information. Includes full text.
JSTOR
Cross-disciplinary database. Includes full-text articles from over 2,000 publications.
MasterFILE Complete
Magazines and reference books. Includes full-text.
MAS Ultra
Provides full text access to nearly 500 high school magazines, over 350 reference books, 85,000 biographies, and 107,000 primary source documents.
ProQuest Central
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles and graphics from more than 10,000 magazines, journals and newspapers.

Useful books

Books at the COC Library are shelved by Library of Congress Classification. In this system, books related to culinary arts are mostly found in the call number range beginning with the letters TX. The library's eBook collections contain additional titles that pertain to culinary arts. Please see a selection of titles listed below.

The Art of Eating Cookbook: Essential Recipes from the First 25 Years
Call Number: eBook
Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience
Call Number: eBook
The Handbook of Food Research
Call Number: eBook
International Cuisine
Call Number: eBook
The New Southern Garden Cookbook: Enjoying the Best from Homegrown Gardens, Farmers' Markets, Roadside Stands, and CSA Farm Boxes
Call Number: eBook
Nutritionism: The Science and Politics of Dietary Advice
Call Number: eBook
The Science of the Oven
Call Number: eBook
Sweet! From Agave to Turbinado, Home Baking with Every Kind of Natural Sugar and Sweetener
Call Number: eBook
(With more than 100 recipes)
The Winemaker's Hand
Call Number: eBook

Other resources

American Culinary Federation
The ACF is an organization based on promoting the professional image of American chefs worldwide through education of culinarians at all levels.
Cool 4 Ed
The three State of California Higher Education Systems are working together to provide you easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning.
Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University provides writing resources and instructional material, including citation style guide examples for MLA, APA, and Chicago.

Academic Video Online
Provides access to almost 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
College Complete eBook Collection
Provides access to more than 46,000 eBooks from leading academic publishers.

Culinary Arts

Library Student Survey

Library Guide

Librarian

Chat with a Librarian 24/7!

Locating articles

Useful books

Other resources